8C LFC Photography Activity

Outdoor Light

Outdoor Light

Indoor Light

Indoor Light

Foreground

Foreground

Background

Background

Rule of Thirds

Rule of Thirds

leading

Lead Room

 

So this week we got to play with photography.  After figuring out how to work the camera I borrowed it become fun.  The Alaska summer sun proved hard to deal with.   Even though all of the images where photographed between 8:00 p.m and 10:00 p.m. the sun was still at full power high in the horizon.

The outdoor image I took is the fountain at the local library.  While I desperately wanted to use it as my rule of third’s image, because of the angle of the sun, it turned out to be the best sky image I could obtain.  The indoor image was captured on the dinning room table with natural light filtering in from two windows on either side.

The foreground and background shots were also a compromised while at the duck pond at the library.  The ducks and geese where not cooperating for obtaining a good shot, so we used a flower that was broken by the side of the lake.  I also used the rule of thirds for this shot.

The rule of thirds photo was taken at Lake Hood, one of the busiest small plane airports in the nation.  The storage shed, plane and fence line all fall on the third lines.  I also took the lead room photo at Lake Hood.  While I had about 70 shots of planes taking off, the best image ended up being one of the parked planes that I was playing around with learning the camera.

I edited the photos in Lightroom and applied a watermark.  The editing process was fun and easy.  I cropped a few images and mostly applied contrast changes and a vignette.  I set the long edge to 1024 and exported the images to my desktop.  I really enjoyed the process and look forward to gaining experience taking photos.

About MPalmatier

I am a mother, wife, business owner and part-time college student.
This entry was posted in Design -Comm125. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

